Quilting Bee · Sewing

Kate’s Birds in Air blocks {around the world bee}

Kate is a wild one. She’ll challenge you down to the tips of your toes and make all your hair stand on end. BUT, in the end, you learn something awesome.

Kate is part of the around the world {a modern bee} that I’ve been participating in this year. It literally consists of people all over the world. Kate resides in Singapore and April was her month for bee blocks. (Yes, I realize May is almost over. Give me a break. They were complicated blocks!)

Kate chose Birds in Air for her April block pattern. Have you ever seen this? Check out this pattern:

And those triangles are TINY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But she sent this beautiful selection of fabric:

So I jumped in. It took an hour or so to cut out all the fabrics for both blocks. Then I started sewing the first block together one Saturday morning in early April. 8 friggin’ hours later I was FINALLY done!!!!!!!!!!

I love how it came out, but I was in no hurry to get on the second one. 😉

Over a month has passed and I’ve got deadlines looming on 3 different swaps and I figured I needed to get the second block done before I lost it in my UFO’s somewhere. So last night I sat down swearing I wouldn’t go to bed until it was finished.

It only took me 3 hours this time! And I love how they both turned out. I hope Kate loves them too! They’ll be off in the mail ASAP!

3 thoughts on “Kate’s Birds in Air blocks {around the world bee}

Say some stuff

