Quilt-Along · Supernova QAL 2011

Last quilty finish of 2011 – the Supernova

 

Eons ago (earlier this year) I did the Supernova quilt along that Lee of Freshly Pieced hosted. I stayed on track for all the piecing of the front. Then Lee described how she made her back and my quilt top went into the W.I.P. pile. Not because of anything Lee said, but because I wanted to use my leftover triangles on the back. And that just seemed like a helleuva lotta work. So I procrastinated. And I’m really good at that!

Come November, I started thinking about Christmas presents. (See? Procrastination!) And I figured the Supernova quilt would make a fabulous present for my sister. So, I set about sewing all those dang triangles together {remember this post??} and figured out a back.

 

 

I finished quilting it in early December. I did just straight line quilting on the diagonal. It came out real nice! Then finished the binding a few days before Christmas.

 

 

I gave my sister her quilt on Christmas Eve. You’ll notice that there are no pictures of her with her new quilt. That’s because her boys, who are 10 and 1-1/2 years old, decided that quilt was really for them! They are so adorable 🙂 It seems like it will be well-loved!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Last quilty finish of 2011 – the Supernova

Say some stuff

