book review

Books will be the death of me

*spoiler alert. sort of…*

Do you ever read a book and find it so compelling that you literally want your life to stop so you can do nothing but read this book? And then want to become a character in it so you can watch it all unfold first hand? And forget to eat and not want to sleep and all that necessity-of-life stuff? Well I do.

Two days ago I picked up Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon. I have the whole series that a friend lent to me, except for that first book. I tried to check it out at the local library, and it had a wait list two gadzillion people long. So I gave up and bought the ebook version of it. Those of you who’ve read it, you know it’s a huge book right?!? Well I read the whole damn thing in TWO DAYS. I lived that book. It became real to me and I started thinking in Scottish brogue. I didn’t speak it, though I caught myself attempting to quite frequently. I stayed up late, got up early, took long lunches at work, and ignored my boyfriend just to find out more about Claire and Jamie.

People. This is some awesome book. And one of the best love stories I’ve read in awhile.

Then, it ENDED and I immediately ran and picked up the second one. A real physical book this time, on loan from that friend. (I am thinking she may never get them back…)  But I started the second book late last night and in it, they lead you to believe that Jamie dies! The main male character, dead?? I almost died myself. I told myself that it couldn’t be true, that there’s some twist in there and he’ll be alright and he and Claire will live their fairy tale love life forever. Cause that’s what books do right? But the book went on and on and there was still no hint of whether he was really dead or not.

This morning I woke up and picked up the book before I even peed and kept flogging through it. Claire visits Jamie’s tombstone and appears to have spent the last 20 years without him, which I find absolutely inconceivable.

Finally, I just couldn’t take it anymore. I looked up the rest of the books online and read their synopsis and JAMIE LIVES. Or at least he continues to be a character in the future books. *whew*  Be still my heart! Ok, now I don’t feel like crying anymore and I can read this book a little more slowly now. I will probably have a breakdown when they do actually die though.

See? I’m telling you. Books will kill me. Yeeesh. If you haven’t heard of this series, you should check it out though. And be prepared to disconnect from your real life for awhile!

Oh, and they’re going to make a TV series out of it! I will be waiting anxiously for that too. Jamie and Claire in “real life.” *swoon*

One thought on “Books will be the death of me

  1. “Books fall open, you fall in. When you climb out again, you’re a bit larger than you used to be.”
    — Gregory Maguire

    Much love from both of us,
    Sue and Jim

    Like

Say some stuff

